UK law is changing. We would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. We've always done this (it's how websites work!), but the law now says I must ask your permission first. To find out more about the cookies, see the privacy notice.

I accept cookies from this site

UK Registered Charity 1117093
Company Number 5947088

"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play…it is war minus the shooting."

George Orwell

AIPS 2013

Stuart was among the 470 members of the AIPS (Sports Journalists)from 96 countries who voted for the SJA 2013 awards.

Men’s winner was six-time Olympic champion and eight-time World champion Usain Bolt, followed by F1 master Sebastian Vettel and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo.

1 - Bolt Usain (30.24%)
2 - Vettel Sebastian (11.77%)
3 - Ronaldo Cristiano (10.31%)


World No. 1 Serena Williams, who in 2013 aced her finest season statistically with a 78-4 record, and 11 titles, received mostvotes, ahead of Russian pole vault queen Yelena Isinbayev and Jamaican athletics star Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce.

1 - Williams Serena (22.25%)
2 - Isinbayeva Yelena (15.66%)
3 - Fraser-Pryce Shelly-Ann (13.4%)

Best Team

European champions Bayern Munich who dominated football in 2013, winning their first Club World Cup title, and finishing the Bundesliga season unbeaten were the resounding winners of the Best Team award ahead of second place winner Miami Heat, two-time NBA Champions who racked up an incredible 27-game winning streak in 2013. New Zealand's All Blacks Rugby team with 14 wins from 14 matches in 2013 took third place.

1 - Bayern Munich (41.32%)
2 - Miami Heat (14.02%)
3 – New Zealand All Blacks Rugby (11.16%)

Weekly sports email

Leave your email address if you wish to receive Stuart's weekly sports email: